Challenging my thoughts

I have been off my path of writing and eating healthy and generally taking care of myself. It is a familiar road to me, I give myself up so easily. But this morning I heard something that resonated with me. “At some point you have to accept who you are” Panache Desai

Finally the core of the issue. I don’t accept and don’t want to accept the very vessel that carries my life. The spread of my hips, the girth of my thighs, a number on the scale that makes me hold myself in contempt. In my mind, I am never enough..thin enough, pretty enough, nice enough, giving enough, it could go on and on. Regardless of the insight that inside, my soul, my heart, my mind are good and loving. I can’t accept the whole of me. I second guess myself, doubt, think I could have done more, feel guilty.

Soul searching and working on acceptance is my task. I carry old baggage that make me feel less than worthy. Hopefully I can lighten my load both spiritually and physically as I start this journey again and work on acceptance of me, flaws and all.

About jaimmers

Learning to age gracefully and continue learning about myself. I blog about motivation, empowerment, family, weight loss and healthier living. Join me.
This entry was posted in Diet, Empowerment, Inspiration, Inspire, Life, Low Carb, Memoir, Motivation, Uncategorized, Unemployed, Weight Loss, What's Next. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Challenging my thoughts

  1. seeker says:

    That’s my friend. Fighting spirit. Cheers. ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. leanne402 says:

    I love the picture for this post. I work with eating disorders and am going to be training in Cognitive Behavioural Therapy this September. Trying to use the techniques of challenging my negative thoughts, or accepting them whilst utilising Mindfulness techniques during my weight loss and training journey. Good luck ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I love the quote. Great post. All the best to you. Have a fabulous evening. Renee ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. mariekeates says:

    Do any of us truly accept ourselves? Most weight loss journeys go awry from time to time, it’s not the times you fall off the wagon that matter but the times you climb back on ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Pam L says:

    I love you so much, as a sister and mostly a best friend!! I wish there was a way for me to help you sort through all of these feelings you’re having. I just know they are unfounded. You are a wonderful, giving person and I hope you come to see that in yourself!! I love you sis!!!!!

  6. Summer says:

    Sweet you,

    I’ve an award for you, for the person who you are and the things you share with the world
    http://summer4soul.wordpress.com/2013/06/10/peace-is-a-free-choice-so-is-this-award/

    Thank you for that..

    Namastรฉ, Summer

Leave a Reply

