Lots to Think On

317976_4784851574536_1988821589_n397597_4784852934570_217980366_n

My granddaughter that stayed with me yesterday.  See SpongeBob in the background!

Today is quiet and retrospective for me. Thinking about my sister. She has just been diagnosed with breast cancer. We are still waiting on reports from the oncologist to get the final determination on her treatment. Currently they are diagnosing her at a Stage IIA. She had a lumpectomy and 12 lymph nodes removed under her arm. One of the nodes was positive, so she needs a full body scan.

I know there are many advances in treatment today, but when it is personal, it is scary. I was thinking about registering for the Susan G. Komen 3 day. Don’t know if I can actually walk 20 miles a day for 3 days. Would really need some training. Has anyone participated in this before that can share their experience? I think it would make me feel like I was making a positive contribution to an awful disease.

On a positive note, I am feeling a difference in my clothes today. Since I started back on my low carb diet, it is amazing how fast the bloated, marshmallow feeling goes away. Now I just feel, well…………fat. 🙂

But I am working on it!

About jaimmers

Learning to age gracefully and continue learning about myself. I blog about motivation, empowerment, family, weight loss and healthier living. Join me.
This entry was posted in Breast Cancer, Diet, Empowerment, Happy, Life, Low Carb, Memoir, Motivation, Older Worker, Older Worker, Retire, Uncategorized, Unemloyed, Weight Loss, What's Next and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lots to Think On

  1. Your words hit home with me… I’m in my twenties and I’ve been through everything you spoke of twice. Staying positive is upmost important. As for your 3 day, I recommend you try another charity. Research shows that Susan B Komen charity only actually donate 10% of their profit to research for Breast cancer. From what I’ve looked into, the woman that is the Head of the organization profits more than 2 million a year. There are so many other organizations that turn more than 95% of their profit to research. I wish you and your family all the best and would love to hear more of your Journey.

Leave a Reply

